We protect your privacy

Your IP is: 85.132.249.81ISP: Cablenet Communication Systems Ltd – Your status: Unprotected

We protect your privacy

Your IP is: 85.132.249.81ISP: Cablenet Communication Systems Ltd – Your status: Unprotected

We protect your privacy

Your IP is: 85.132.249.81
Internet provider: Cablenet Communication Systems Ltd
Your status: Unprotected

VPN Killswitch

A VPN killswitch is an emergency switch to bring a temporarily insecure VPN connection to a complete stop. In case of suspicious movements, the Internet connection is automatically terminated.

In the IT world, a killswitch is used to protect data or privacy. A stolen smartphone is deactivated by means of a killswitch so that the data is not read.

This mechanism is used for VPNs. It happens that a VPN fails while you are online. A killswitch automatically disconnects you from the Internet so that your data is not passed on unprotected. A VPN killswitch prevents your IP from becoming visible without you noticing. In short, the Killswitch saves your privacy and keeps control over your VPN connection.

What else do you use a killswitch for?

The term is common in many other industries. Heavy machines that have “quirks” or get stuck are stopped completely with the emergency stop switch. The same applies to vehicles, elevators and nuclear power plants. Safety is the top priority!

Smartphones also have various killswitches. A stolen cell phone is immediately rendered unusable by the killswitch. If it is a virus or Trojan, the killswitch causes the removal of the malicious application. The killswitch can control the whole device or individual apps. This is just as a background to understand the importance of a kill switch for the VPN.

Causes of connection interruptions

The VPN Killswitch takes effect when the VPN connection is interrupted for various reasons. We have listed the most popular interruptions:

  1. Firewall and/or router settings. The configuration of a VPN can become complicated under certain circumstances. The wrong firewall or router settings prevent a VPN connection from being established. The firewall or your antivirus program may classify the VPN as unreliable. The result is an irregular VPN connection.
  2. Unstable Internet connection / Insufficient signal strength / Server overload. Depending on your own Internet connection, the VPN connection may occasionally fail. If you regularly change the WLAN or receive a weak WLAN signal, the connection will be interrupted. Problems with the server are another risk. An overloaded server, malfunctions in the physical server or time-outs disconnect the VPN connection the killswitch takes effect!
  1. VPN protocol selection. We recommend only OpenVPN with TCP and UDP connections as protocol. OpenVPN provides a stable connection and high performance. PPTP and L2TP are comparatively unstable. The connections are disconnected more often. The choice of VPN protocol influences the frequency of interruptions. A premium VPN chooses the best protocol automatically.

Killswitch technology: how it works

A killswitch should always be activated. As an activist, journalist or blogger, you can’t afford to have your online activities tracked. This is especially true for people living in authoritarian-run countries. Anywhere the government can read what “coup” you are planning next.

A killswitch protects you from data leaks and unexpected connection interruptions.

A killswitch has three main functions:

A killswitch is not always active. It must be activated via the settings of the application or app.

There are also alternatives to Killswitch. VPNetMon and VPN Watcher do not terminate the entire Internet connection compared to Killswitch. Only the programs that reveal the IP address are terminated here. The Internet connection will still be available.

Surf safely now

Your mobile VPN router
Our DN8 PrivacyCube
From €6.99

How reliable are VPN networks?

Experts agree that no VPN client can promise complete anonymity. A VPN can never protect online activities 100%. However, it can significantly improve the protection of data and security on the network!

The VPN connection depends largely on the VPN software. Some VPN products are vulnerable to IPv6 leaks and DNS attacks. A third-party DNS server provider can read, log and manipulate the data. We recommend going with a provider that excludes third-party vendors and follows a zero-log policy.

A traditional VPN protects two things: the traffic and it disguises the origin of the user. Encryptions such as AES are not cracked.

The biggest vulnerability of VPNs is the user. Incorrect configuration of the VPN can expose the anonymity.

Mail traffic is also a problem for some VPNs. If the recipient of an e-mail does not have a VPN, the connection is open. Our PrivacyCubeprovides full encryption for e-mail traffic.

Conclusion: A killswitch is essential.

A killswitch is a valuable additional feature for any VPN. The killswitch approach has the right goals. You may not even be sitting in front of the PC while your data is being read out. A killswitch prevents this!

Surf safely now

Your mobile VPN router
Our DN8 PrivacyCube
From €6.99

Latest blog posts

Privacy News from DN8

Subscribe to the newsletter now!

You will not receive spam from us. We will send you information about our products and about how to stay safe on the Internet.

Register for our newsletter

We protect your privacy

Deine IP ist: 85.132.249.81    ·    Internetanbieter: Cablenet Communication Systems Ltd    ·    Dein StatusUngeschützt

We protect your privacy

Deine IP ist: 85.132.249.81    ·    Internetanbieter: Cablenet Communication Systems Ltd    ·    Dein StatusUngeschützt

We protect your privacy

Deine IP ist: 85.132.249.81 
Internetanbieter: Cablenet Communication Systems Ltd
Dein StatusUngeschützt

VPN Killswitch

Ein VPN Killswitch ist ein Notfallschalter, um eine temporär unsichere VPN-Verbindung völlig zum stoppen zu bringen. Bei verdächtigen Bewegungen wird die Internetverbindung automatisch beendet.

In der IT-Welt dient ein Killswitch dem Schutz der Daten bzw. der Privatsphäre. Ein gestohlenes Smartphone wird mittels Killswitch deaktiviert, sodass die Daten nicht mitgelesen werden.

Dieser Mechanismus wird für VPNs genutzt. Es kommt vor, dass ein VPN ausfällt, während Sie online sind. Ein Killswitch trennt Sie  automatisch vom Internet, sodass Ihre Daten nicht ungeschützt weitergegeben werden. Ein VPN Killswitch verhindert, dass Ihre IP sichtbar wird, ohne dass Sie es bemerken. Kurzgesagt: Der Killswitch rettet Ihre Privatsphäre und hält Kontrolle über Ihre VPN-Verbindung.

Wofür nutzt man einen Killswitch noch?

Der Begriff ist in vielen anderen Branchen geläufig. Schwere Maschinen, die “Macken” haben oder hängen bleiben, werden mit dem Not-Aus-Schalter komplett gestoppt. Das gleiche gilt für Fahrzeuge, Aufzüge und Kernkraftwerke. Die Sicherheit steht an oberste Stelle!

Auch Smartphones besitzen verschiedene Killswitches. Ein gestohlenes Handy wird durch den Killswitch sofort unbrauchbar gemacht. Handelt es sich um einen Virus oder Trojaner, erwirkt der Killswitch die Entfernung der bösartigen Anwendung. Der Killswitch kann das ganze Gerät kontrollieren oder einzelne Apps. Dies nur als Hintergrund, um die Wichtigkeit eines Kill Switches für den VPN nachzuvollziehen.

Ursachen für Verbindungsunterbrechungen

Der VPN Killswitch greift, wenn die VPN-Verbindung aus verschiedenen Gründen unterbrochen wird. Wir haben die bekanntesten Unterbrechungen aufgelistet:

  1. Firewall- und/oder Router-Einstellungen. Die Konfiguration eines VPNs kann unter Umständen kompliziert werden. Die falschen Firewall- oder Router Einstellungen verhindern, dass sich eine VPN-Verbindung aufbaut. Die Firewall oder Ihr Antivirus Programm kann den VPN als unzuverlässig einstufen. Die Folge ist eine unregelmäßige VPN-Verbindung.
  2. Instabile Internetverbindung / Unzureichende Signalstärke / Serverüberlastung. Abhängig von Ihrer eigenen Internetverbindung, kann die VPN-Verbindung gelegentlich ausfallen. Wenn Sie regelmäßig das WLAN wechseln oder ein schwaches WLAN Signal empfangen, unterbricht die Verbindung. Probleme mit dem Server sind ein weiteres Risiko. Ein überlasteter Server, Störungen im physischen Server oder Time-Outs trennen die VPN-Verbindung der Killswitch greift!
  1. Wahl des VPN-Protokolls. Wir empfehlen ausschließlich OpenVPN mit TCP und UDP Verbindungen als Protokoll. OpenVPN bietet eine stabile Verbindung und eine hohe Performance. PPTP und L2TP sind vergleichsweise instabil. Die Verbindungen werden häufiger getrennt. Die Wahl des VPN Protokolls beeinflusst die Häufigkeit der Unterbrechungen. Ein Premium-VPN wählt das beste Protokoll automatisch.

Killswitch-Technologie: So funktioniert sie

Ein Killswitch sollte immer aktiviert sein. Als Aktivist, Journalist oder Blogger können Sie es sich nicht leisten, dass Ihre Online Aktivitäten verfolgt werden. Dies gilt insbesondere für Personen, die in autoritär geführten Ländern wohnen. Überall dort, wo die Regierung mitlesen kann, welchen “Coup” Sie als Nächstes planen.

Ein Killswitch schützt Sie vor Datenlecks und unerwarteten Verbindungsunterbrechungen.

Ein Killswitch verfolgt drei wesentliche Funktionen:

Ein Killswitch ist nicht immer aktiv. Er muss über die Einstellungen der Anwendung oder App aktiviert werden. 

Es gibt auch Alternativen zu Killswitch. VPNetMon und VPN Watcher brechen im Vergleich zum Killswitch nicht die komplette Internetverbindung ab. Hier werden ausschließlich die Programme beendet, die die IP-Adresse offenbaren. Die Internetverbindung bleibt weiterhin vorhanden.

Jetzt sicher surfen

Ihr mobiler VPN Router
Unser DN8 PrivacyCube
Ab 6,99 €

Wie zuverlässig sind VPN-Netzwerke?

Fachexperten sind sich einig: Eine vollständige Anonymität kann kein VPN-Client versprechen. Ein VPN kann die Online-Aktivitäten nie zu 100 % schützen. Er kann den Schutz der Daten und die Sicherheit im Netz aber maßgeblich verbessern!

Die VPN-Verbindung hängt maßgeblich von der VPN Software ab. Manche VPN Produkte sind anfällig für IPv6 Lecks und DNS Angriffe. Ein Drittanbieter des DNS-Servers kann die Daten mitlesen, loggen und manipulieren. Wir empfehlen, auf einen Anbieter zu setzen, der Drittanbieter ausschließt und eine Zero-Log-Policy verfolgt.

Ein herkömmlicher VPN schützt zwei Dinge: Den Datenverkehr und er verschleiert die Herkunft des Nutzers. Verschlüsselungen wie AES werden nicht geknackt.

Die größte Schwachstelle von VPNs ist der Nutzer. Durch fehlerhafte Konfiguration des VPNs kann die Anonymität offengelegt werden.

Der Mailverkehr ist ebenfalls ein Problem für manche VPNs. Besitzt der Empfänger einer E-Mail kein VPN, ist die Verbindung offen. Unser PrivacyCube bietet beim E-Mailverkehr eine vollständige Verschlüsselung.

Fazit: Ein Killswitch ist unerlässlich.

Ein Killswitch ist eine wertvolle Zusatzfunktion für jeden VPN. Der Ansatz des Killswitches verfolgt die richtigen Ziele. Möglicherweise sitzen Sie nicht einmal vor dem PC, während Ihre Daten ausgelesen werden. Ein Killswitch verhindert das!

Jetzt sicher surfen

Ihr mobiler VPN Router
Unser DN8 PrivacyCube
Ab 6,99 €

Neuste Blog Beiträge

Privacy News von DN8

Abonniere jetzt den Newsletter!

Sie erhalten von uns keinen Spam. Wir senden Ihnen Informationen zu unseren Produkten und über den sicheren Umgang im Internet.

Registrieren Sie sich für unseren Newsletter